Waiting for Perfection?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We had a discussion about this.
My boyfriend and me.
You see we are both Potters.
And I dont like using this term but well..yes we are both Meditators.

We met at a meditation center 6 years ago. Love happened, we quit our jobs, gave up the house  and started travelling. We dedicated time and energy to our meditation practice and to travelling. We mixed them up and then came pottery. It just happenned a few years ago. And we got addicted.

Back to what we had a discussion over!

Well, we are very different. Our methods are different.

Method = Meditation method/technique/path and also Method = Pottery method

He makes them and breaks them. Pots!
For him the process is complete.  He is not attached to them.
It is not an easy choice for beginners to break their first few cylinders.
He has been comfortable with this way from the start. This is his way.

Now there is another method of teaching pottery –

“Keep breaking them till you get them perfect!”

You keep making them and breaking them till you achieve perfection!
They call this the Zen way of Pottery!

Sometimes beginners have to make 100’s of cups before they get to glaze and fire their first.

Talking to many of my potter friends, I realized that this was the method they were taught by.

I was introduced to pottery by a teacher who encourages all beginners to fire all their pots.
Even when I disliked the piece I had made, the teacher would show me something unusual about it. She showed me how to look at it with new eyes.

I enjoyed making it, glazing it and firing it!
I love the pieces I made when I started. The above slideshow shows them. The first pinched bowl.
The first cylinder which was turned into an aromatherapy lamp.

I find that when we make art from a space of not knowing too much about the medium. When we are innocent to what is good or bad (which is introduced to us). When we create from that innocence. Those pieces are very authentic. If we have the eyes to see them, we see ourselves in them.

I enjoy uniqueness. Living who we are in this moment.
And anything we create is a perfect expression of this moment.

What is your method?

One thought on “Waiting for Perfection?

  1. hey…i saw that…and i love wht u hav written below it…it makes so much sense now….and i do hav my initial stage pcs…and if u rem. u hav seen them…few bowls with slip work on it…i got those pcs during our last glazing sessions…and ur right bout the innocent part…i still love those designs…..yet now i understand the importance of breakage too 😀

Leave a Reply

